top of page
  • Writer's pictureNilni Kamburugamuwa

How To Make A Mummy From Popsicle Sticks

Updated: Sep 11, 2021

Previously, I made a scarecrow which wasn't exactly the scariest looking thing around. Did it qualify as a monster? No way! Mr. Scrappers, my scarecrow, looked like the happiest little puppet alive (uh, sort of). But then, I popped its head off and replaced it with one having a more pitiless expression. So now it's good to go!

Anyways, I'm on a roll making different kinds of Halloween monsters using Popsicle sticks and this time it's going to be a mummy! Truth be told it's super simple to make, and it probably took me just 5 minutes (maybe 10?). Well, go ahead and enjoy working on this Halloween kids craft activity.


What you'll need:

  • 2 Popsicle sticks

  • Scraps of cloth


Step 1: The Skeleton

Place two popsicle sticks in the shape of a cross and wrap a strip of scrap cloth around to secure the sticks together. The cloth I'm using (it's actually scrap from when my mom sewed a hoodie for me) has a panda print on its (cue fabric talk) "right side". This gives a grey-ish tint to the "wrong side" which is great because it makes the cloth look like worn out bandage.

halloween popsicle stick mummy

Step 2: Shaping Up

Now you can start wrapping up the mummy to give it a proper shape. Make sure you're done with the body before you get to the head. Why is this giving me Superman vibes?

halloween popsicle stick mummy

Step 3: Eye Slit

Place a rectangle of black colored paper to imitate the slit in place of the mummy's eyes.

halloween popsicle stick mummy

Step 4: Final Wrap

Now complete the wrapping to give the mummy a nice head. You can either leave it at this stage to have a more sinister looking mummy with no eyes, or you can move onto the next step like I did and wind up with a funny looking one.

halloween popsicle stick mummy

Step 5: Eyes

Make a pair of eyes and stick them into the slit. Sigh, I honestly don't understand why everything I make ends up looking cartoon-ish and not scary at all!

halloween popsicle stick mummy

We're done! Additionally, you can use red paint to make splotches of blood on it. I choose not to do so because I know for sure I'll be messing it all up. So, no thank you, ma'am.

Well, now Mr. Scrappers the second has a new friend! All prepped up for Halloween, aren't they just adorable? Not what I was going for, but still A-D-O-R-A-B-L-E.

halloween popsicle stick mummy  and scarecrow

If you too would like to make a popsicle scarecrow, check out this pictorial:

424 views3 comments

Related Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page