top of page
  • Writer's pictureNilni Kamburugamuwa

How To Make A Tiny Doll House; Miniature Crafts

Updated: Aug 2, 2021

Hi guys! Just as I mentioned on my Instagram post, I decided to start off a miniature crafts series. So in this blog post I'll be showing you how to make a tiny doll house from absolute scrap. I'll be going for a rustic countryside cottage look for it but you can make your own modifications depending on your preferences. Without further ado, let's get started!

What you'll need:



Step 1

Cut out the shapes to the measurements shown in the figure above. It doesn't have to be perfect since, as mentioned earlier, I'm going for a more worn-down look.


Step 2

Stick on the side walls using glue. You can place to stacks of books on either sides to support the walls until the glue has dried. If you're skilled with a glue gun, I highly recommend using it over other liquid glues.

Step 3

Stick on the floors. For the top floor, I cut off a small square from the corner so that I can place a ladder to enter it in case an elf actually decides to live in it. You never know!


Step 4

Attach the roof and cut out a window. I totally forgot to cut out the windows before connecting the pieces which made it really hard to get a smooth cut. So make sure you cut the windows out before you assemble the pieces.


Step 5

I made some furniture to decorate my tiny doll house! A bookshelf because I love books and you can use the different colored books to add vibrancy to the room, a bed, a chair (honestly, it doesn't look as good as I wanted it to be but oh well), a ladder for the little elves to climb, succulents since you guys are so crazy about them these days, a nightstand, two carpets, and a framed painting.


And we're done! Depending on your preference you can easily increase the number of floors, rooms, and furniture. For my miniature doll house I've decided to go for a rustic countryside cottage look. But if you prefer a more modern look you can use a different kind of refined board or wood to make the structure, paint it with acrylic paint, and use a pretty patterned paper for wallpaper. Honestly, there's a plethora of things you can do to it!


I also made a small stop-motion video for the whole process:



185 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page