top of page
  • Writer's pictureNilni Kamburugamuwa

Build a Scarecrow Day; Here's How to Make a Popsicle Scarecrow

Updated: Jul 13, 2021

Have you ever heard of the 'build a scarecrow' day? Most probably not, but it does exist! And it's celebrated on the 1st Sunday of July, which is the 4th of July this year (2021).

I was bored out of my mind a few days ago and googled for special days in July to get some inspiration for a new blog post and this came up. Let me tell you, I was really excited because right now I'm super invested in the Harvest Moon: Friends of Mineral Town game so this turned out to be a very pleasant discovery.



So in this post, I'll be showing you how to build a scarecrow. Well, not a real one since I don't own a farm (though I wish I did). I'll be making a cute little Popsicle scarecrow.


What you need:

  • 2 Popsicle sticks

  • Scrap paper

  • Cardboard / Corrugated board

  • Yarn


Step 1: The skeleton

To make the body of the scarecrow I will be placing two Popsicles in the shape of a cross and securing them using a rubber band. You can use a string of yarn or a similar substitute for this.

popsicle stick scarecrow

Step 2: Preparing the head

Wrap strips of scrap paper around one end of a Popsicle stick. Keep doing so until it looks like a lollipop. Mind you it doesn't have to look perfect since scarecrows are usually very patchy and sorry-looking. Make sure to secure the strips with some glue so that it does not unwrap as you go. Also, don't attach it directly onto the stick just yet because you'll have to pop it off later on when dressing it up.

popsicle stick scarecrow

Step 3: Making the hat

I'm using corrugated paper to make the hat so that it gives the scarecrow a more rustic look. I got a circle that's larger than the scarecrows head and from it I've cut out another circle that's slightly smaller that the head. In addition to that, I've taken a strip that can go around the circumference of the smaller circle. The width of the strip depends on how high you want the hat to be.

popsicle stick scarecrow hat

Stick the edges of the strip together to make a cylindrical shape and make short cuts along both of its edges. The flaps on one edge should be bent inward while the other flaps on the other edge are bent outward. These will act as glue tabs to paste on the circles.

popsicle stick scarecrow hat


Step 4: Adding hair

Cut as many pieces of yarn as you want for the scarecrows hair. The length depends on your preference and if it's too long you can trim it off later on. I'd like mine to have shoulder length hair so I'm going for 3.5cm strands. I've loosened out the braided yarn to get strands that look like wavy hair.

popsicle stick scarecrow hair

Rather than sticking the hair directly onto the scarecrows head I've stuck it into the hat. I felt that it was much easier to spread the hair out evenly this way.

popsicle stick scarecrow hair

Once that's done you can flip it onto the scarecrows head.

popsicle stick scarecrow

Step 5: Dress up

For the dress, I simply took a piece of paper, folded it in half, and cut the shape of a dress with a hole for its neck.

popsicle stick scarecrow dress

You can pop the head off, put the dress on, fasten the edges, and pop the head back on.

popsicle stick scarecrow

Step 6: Final touch

Finally, you can add the eyes and a mouth to give life to the little thing. Maybe give it a name as well! I'll call mine Mr. Scrappers. I've added a small scarf from a piece of scrap cloth I took from one of moms sewing expeditions. And we're done!

popsicle stick scarecrow

Doesn't this miniature scarecrow look super cute?

popsicle stick scarecrow

If you're a mom or a kindergarten teacher, this would be a great craft activity to have your kids indulge in!


Recommended Products




310 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page