top of page
  • Writer's pictureNilni Kamburugamuwa

How To Make The Squid Game Origami Paper Flip Toy (Ddakji)

Updated: Oct 5, 2021

Tiktok is obsessed with Squid Game and I had to watch it myself to see what the hype was all about. So I binge-watched the entire season and it was...good. To be honest, I'm not yet sure how I feel about it. It was great on a whole, and I've got that creepy "Mugunghwa Kkoci Pieot Seumnida" doll chant stuck in my head. But was it worth all the crazy hype? I don't know. Will I watch Squid Game Season 2 when it comes out? Probably.

It reminded me of Hunger Games. Especially at the end when Gi-hun (the MC) decided to save his friend by withdrawing rather than winning the Squid Game much like how Katniss decided to suicide with Peeta rather than battle him to give the games a winner.

There was one incident that kept nagging me throughout the entire show and it was the fact that the cop simply killed a red guard and dumped him in the sea as if killing people was a super normal thing for a policeman to do. I mean, what? Did I miss something?

Anyways, enough about my opinion on the show! I've come here to show you how to make the origami flip toy (Ddakji) that Gi-hun and the train-station guy play with.


Step 1

Get a 3:2 sheet of paper and crease it along the lies as shown below. I have use a 21x14 cm sheet. So the Ddakji I'll have in the end will be 7x7 square.


Step 2

Fold it in half.


Step 3

Make diagonal folds as shown in the figure below.

You will need two such shapes so repeat the steps 1, 2, and 3 with another 3:2 sheet of paper.


Step 4

Place the two shapes you made as shown below.


Next, fold the top flap onto itself.


Then fold the left flap over it.


After that, fold the bottom flap over them both.


Finally, slip the pointed edge of the remaining flap into the little pocket indicated by the arrowhead.


We're done!


If you'd like to try out some Squid Game Halloween costumes, visit this post: Squid Game Costumes For Halloween 2021

4,031 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page