top of page
  • Writer's pictureNilni Kamburugamuwa

Dried or Pressed Flowers: How to Make and Use Them

Updated: Jun 16, 2021



Okay, so I plucked some flowers off and slipped them into an old planner to press. Let me tell you I was super excited to use them for whatever I was planning on making. However, I had to wait at least a couple of days until they were flattened out and fit for work. So that's exactly what I did. But guess what, I totally forgot about them for well over a month! And now I can't even recall what I had planned on using them for. So I decided to write this post instead and promise myself to make good use of the now pressed and dried flowers before they decompose :)


Before we get started let me tell you that pressed flowers and dried flowers are two different things. Might be obvious but I thought they were the same thing until I actually started thinking about it when writing this post and googling it. Pressed flowers happen when you flatten the flowers out inside a book or something similar, and dried flowers are ones that you simply leave out to dry on their own.


Making Pressed Flowers

Any dummy can make pressed flowers (well, not quite literally) so I won't be typing out passages of extended instructions. Just pluck some flowers, stick them in a book, put some weight over it, leave it alone for a few days, and you're done.



Making Dried Flowers

I did NOT make them. But if I ever do, I'll make sure to update this post! Just like with pressed flowers, all you have to do is to pluck some flowers and, instead of flattening them out with a weight, set them out in the sun to dry.







Crafts You Can Use Pressed/Dried Flowers For

There's a plethora of crafts that you can make using pressed/dried flowers like greeting cards, key tags, pendants, wall-art, bookmarks, paper holders, and more. You can even list them up for sale since aesthetic crafts are really popular these days. But one thing you have to keep in mind is that the bright colors the flowers have at first will fade with time, leaving a more faded brown color behind.





596 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page